Welcome to the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission (WMATC)
The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission (WMATC) was established in 1960 pursuant to the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Regulation Compact, an interstate compact among Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia providing for regional regulation of private sector motor carriers transporting passengers for hire in the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit District.
The Commission issues operating authority to van and bus operators and some sedan, SUVs and limousine operators. Carriers holding authority from the Commission must file fixed rates and fares with the Commission and comply with Commission-prescribed insurance, safety and vehicle-marking regulations. The Commission also prescribes rates and charges for transportation by taxicab between one compact signatory and another, where both points are within the Metropolitan District.
- Attention all Carriers:
The District of Columbia has vehicle registration requirements for chartered buses seating more than 15 passengers that are operated within the District of Columbia. Under these requirements, such vehicles must either: (1) be registered as a commercial vehicle within Washington D.C. and bear Washington DC license plates; (2) be registered in their home state with apportioned license plates; or (3) display a valid trip permit from the DC Department of Motor Vehicles. A trip permit costs $50, lasts 6 days, and covers only one specific vehicle.
Compliance with this law does not exempt a carrier from WMATC requirements, and possession of WMATC operating authority does not exempt a carrier from compliance with the District of Columbia law. For more information about the new D.C. charter bus requirements, contact the District of Columbia Department of Motor Vehicles at (202) 737-4404 or visit https://dmv.dc.gov/node/1119521.